5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

MDS not working (I know, most of you don't like MDS)

Pwest

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I recently Bought a 2020 Ram 1500 with the Hemi V8 Etorque. I have put on 2000 miles on the highway with practically no city driving, 500 just picking it up out of state, and my gas mileage is poor, 16-17.5 mpg. The MDS rarely activates and when it does I'm heading down a hill and it clicks off soon afterward.

Has anyone had issues with their Ram having poor efficiency? Why isn't my MDS kicking in?
 

Joshohol

Active Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
46
Reaction score
13
Location
Waterford NY
I mean I have it disabled and get 14.2 and that's good. 17 is fine in real world.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
 

jdefoe0424

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
441
Reaction score
227
Location
Illinois
Mileage with these things really depends on where you drive, stop lights, speed limits etc.
They don't like stop and go and they don't like 70+.
When I moved back in December my mileage went down 1+ mpg as I went from 1 stop sign to a short drive through my neighborhood and 3 stop lights

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
 

Pwest

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Mileage with these things really depends on where you drive, stop lights, speed limits etc.
They don't like stop and go and they don't like 70+.
When I moved back in December my mileage went down 1+ mpg as I went from 1 stop sign to a short drive through my neighborhood and 3 stop lights

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
Like I said, it's all highway. All 75 mph.
 

Pwest

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
How does it have EPA rating of 22 mpg? Eco/MDS is designed to help highway gas mileage.
 

Joshohol

Active Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
46
Reaction score
13
Location
Waterford NY
I mean the speed limits here are 55 and 65. 55mph trip for 2 hours of driving i got 21 without etorque and no mds

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
 

Joshohol

Active Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
46
Reaction score
13
Location
Waterford NY
How does it have EPA rating of 22 mpg? Eco/MDS is designed to help highway gas mileage.
Because the speed limit is less than 65. Those ratings are at probably 65. The mds doesn't work under load.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
 

Nails

Ram Guru
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
1,536
Reaction score
733
Location
San Antonio
Took a trip out to ranch In west TX a few months back 75 plus speed limits—mpg 16.2. With a good amount of crawling/idling at ranch. I’m very happy with that
 

Pwest

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Anyone have luck with tuners economy mode helping out? I drive a minimum of 40 miles one way, 6 days a week.
 

Joshohol

Active Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
46
Reaction score
13
Location
Waterford NY
The economy modes usually just limit the throttle angle

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
 

Richard320

Ram Guru
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
777
Reaction score
592
Location
LA County, People's Republic of California
How does it have EPA rating of 22 mpg? Eco/MDS is designed to help highway gas mileage.
Right here. Note that it doesn't go above 60 Highway does not always mean freeway..

hwfetdds.gif
 

jdefoe0424

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
441
Reaction score
227
Location
Illinois
I was hoping someone would post the chart here too, I think the average of that test was like 45-50mph if I remember correctly

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
 

Bigga826

Active Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
56
Reaction score
13
I recently Bought a 2020 Ram 1500 with the Hemi V8 Etorque. I have put on 2000 miles on the highway with practically no city driving, 500 just picking it up out of state, and my gas mileage is poor, 16-17.5 mpg. The MDS rarely activates and when it does I'm heading down a hill and it clicks off soon afterward.

Has anyone had issues with their Ram having poor efficiency? Why isn't my MDS kicking in?
60 MPH is the top speed it will work
 

My1stHemi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
221
Reaction score
155
Location
Planet Earth
Mileage with these things really depends on where you drive, stop lights, speed limits etc.
They don't like stop and go and they don't like 70+.
When I moved back in December my mileage went down 1+ mpg as I went from 1 stop sign to a short drive through my neighborhood and 3 stop lights

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

My truck loves stop and go, take offs from stoplights and fast speeds, but fuel mileage sure suffers :D
 

silver billet

Ram Guru
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
922
60 MPH is the top speed it will work

Once you're rolling past like 15 mph it will work at any speed provided it has the power to do so. Mine has been active much higher than 60 (back when I used it), especially if there is a tail wind.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top