5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

  • We have been battling an on and off issue with registration verification emails not being sent out with certain users. We have finally got the issue resolved so if you have tried registering for the site but have not received a verification email, just request another verification email when you log in and you should now receive it. If you still don't receive the verification email, send us an email at [email protected] and we will get it resolved for you. Thanks!

Hard-wire Dash Cam Install

firecadet613

Ram Guru
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
736
I had this setup on my F150 and just finished the install on my RAM. I run a Viofo A129 dual dash cam, with the rear cam mounted on the passenger side of the sliding rear window (cable tucked up inside the headliner on the passenger side.

Dash cam - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTBB4R5/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Hard wire kit - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07JQ1JYPJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Fuse Tap (not shown in below pics) - https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B077PBXGKQ/ref=ya_aw_oh_bia_dp?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Looking at the owners manual, there is a fuse box located below the steering column, fuse F66 is unused, 10a and labelled as an accessory fuse. Fuses - Constant 12V is F33, switched 12V is F66.

u49d9UT.jpg


The dash panel below the steering column is held on by two bolts at the bottom and a bunch of clips, I used a non marring trim removal tool to help loosen those up. Once it's off, you'll have open access to the fuse block.

YIEylAX.jpg

J7oSsXk.jpg


Not pictured below is the fuse tap I used, the link above fits perfectly.

TxSzqku.jpg


The trim panel to the left of the instrument panel pops off with trim removal tools as well (a few clips holding it on). Use a phillips screwdriver to loosen up one of the screws enough to get the ground wire in place and mounted. A few zip ties to keep the wiring in place and from bouncing around as well.

J5aa3Z9.jpg


On my F150 I pulled off the A pillar trip piece to route the wiring up and into the front of the headliner, over to where I mounted the dash cam by the mirror. In the RAM, I was able to sneak it behind the A pillar trim without removing it.

pCJMpy4.jpg

qjOGswC.jpg


pEZQSs2.jpg

PklzaI0.jpg


Hope this helps!


***Edited - When I originally wrote this I had a G1W dash cam, I've since switched to the Viofo***
 
Last edited:

firecadet613

Ram Guru
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
736
Figured for $60 bucks why not, prove that I'm not at fault if I'm involved in an accident. I've only rolled back and downloaded footage a handful of times. Caught a few car accidents and other interesting things while driving 30,000 miles a year. Well worth it, IMO.
 

firecadet613

Ram Guru
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
736
I've got a 32gb SD Card in mine. It'll record about 6 hours then record over the oldest clips - only while the truck is running though. They are 3 minute clips.
 

K9_Bullet

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
35
Great info and pics - thank you!! I run a dash cam on all my personal vehicles (and work vehicle of course :)). Just picked up my truck yesterday and will be adding a dash cam in the next couple of weeks. In my opinion, everyone should run a dash cam. You would be amazed how the stories change as soon as someone mentions they have a dash cam. Also, witnesses never stop or stay around so it is your word against theirs and the camera takes care of that.
 

K9_Bullet

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
35
Done! Got my dash cam installed quickly this morning thanks to you! Knowing which fuse to used saved a ton of time. Also the trick of pulling the side panel for the ground and place to store the extra wire made it very easy. Thanks again!!
 

firecadet613

Ram Guru
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
736
Done! Got my dash cam installed quickly this morning thanks to you! Knowing which fuse to used saved a ton of time. Also the trick of pulling the side panel for the ground and place to store the extra wire made it very easy. Thanks again!!

My pleasure. How did you mount the cam on the windshield?
 

K9_Bullet

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
35
My pleasure. How did you mount the cam on the windshield?

I use a camera made by Rexing. Got on Amazon on Prime day for $65. I have a couple of them on other cars, work great. It comes with a mount that uses 3M tape that sticks it to the windshield. Have not had any issues with them.
 

warvet

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
243
Reaction score
277
Fire, this is the kit (pic attached) I got that goes with my radar detector. Looks like, based on your pics, I don't need to buy "add a fuse" because I have an inline fuse like your kit. So, I could just snip off the end of the red wire and wrap it around a fuse as you did right??? That's the end most are snipping to use a "add a fuse" ........also, how do we know F66 is unused? Looking in the manual, I do notice it says "accessory" but if it were unused, wouldn't it say "spare" like I see elsewhere?

I'm not sure I can split the red/black wire in order to run the black wire into the side panel (due to distance) for grounding, but I'll check. I know they aren't one wire.....and I can basically pull them apart........I noticed that yesterday. We'll see
 

Attachments

  • 41w+mUcVIdL.jpg
    41w+mUcVIdL.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 425
Last edited:

firecadet613

Ram Guru
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
736
Fire, this is the kit (pic attached) I got that goes with my radar detector. Looks like, based on your pics, I don't need to buy "add a fuse" because I have an inline fuse like your kit. So, I could just snip off the end of the red wire and wrap it around a fuse as you did right??? That's the end most are snipping to use a "add a fuse"

I'm not sure I can split the red/black wire in order to run the black wire into the side panel (due to distance) for grounding, but I'll check. I know they aren't one wire.....and I can basically pull them apart........I noticed that yesterday. We'll see

Correct to all. I tried the add a fuse on my F150 but it wouldn't let me put the cover on so I did the wrapped wire. 2 years and no issue.
 

Duane

Active Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
75
I had this setup on my F150 and just finished the install on my RAM. The dash cam is powered up when the truck is on and off when it's off. I won't go into the reviews of this dash cam or setup, but I've had it for two years and no complaints. Great video quality as well.

Dash cam - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00OQSXWUM/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Hard wire kit - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MH4ZVHO/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Looking at the owners manual, there is a fuse box located below the steering column, fuse F66 is unused, 10a and labelled as an accessory fuse. Perfect for what I'm trying to do.

u49d9UT.jpg


The dash panel below the steering column is held on by two bolts at the bottom and a bunch of clips, I used a non marring trim removal tool to help loosen those up. Once it's off, you'll have open access to the fuse block.

YIEylAX.jpg

J7oSsXk.jpg


With my F150, a add-a-fuse setup would barely fit, so I just wrapped the hot wire around a fuse and plugged it back in. Since the fuse is unused in the RAM, that sounded good as well.

TxSzqku.jpg


The trim panel to the left of the instrument panel pops off with trim removal tools as well (a few clips holding it on). Use a phillips screwdriver to loosen up one of the screws enough to get the ground wire in place and mounted. A few zip ties to keep the wiring in place and from bouncing around as well.

J5aa3Z9.jpg


On my F150 I pulled off the A pillar trip piece to route the wiring up and into the front of the headliner, over to where I mounted the dash cam by the mirror. In the RAM, I was able to sneak it behind the A pillar trim without removing it.

pCJMpy4.jpg

qjOGswC.jpg


Hope this helps!

Great idea; I'll do it on mine when comes in....way to many aggressive & wrecckless drivers out there.

BTW, I wonder if that large white pad is for the deploble knee bolster feature?? The '19 RAM has 'em for both driver & front passenger; it is listed under 'Safety Features' in the media press kit ( but not in any other publication).
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top