5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cylinder deactivation? 5.7

TA5thGen

Reaction score
5.7L I’m new to ram. Is there supposed to be cylinder deactivation at certain speeds and should you see an eco icon in the dash cluster or something similar?

devildodge

Staff member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
5.7L I’m new to ram. Is there supposed to be cylinder deactivation at certain speeds and should you see an eco icon in the dash cluster or something similar?
There are a few threads on this to explain more.

Yes there is. And yes you should.

The 5.7 does have MDS and does deactivate cylinders.

It does have an eco icon. Some say they don't see it til after break in, some say they see it often, some say they rarely see it.

Some say you have to turn it on, others say it is always on.

Neurobit

RAM Sorcerer
Reaction score
There are afew threads on this to explain more.

Yes there is. And yes you should.

The 5.7 does have MDS and does deactivate cylinders.

It does have an eco icon. Some say they don't see it til after break in, some say thethey see it often, some say they rarely see it.

Some say you have to turn it on, others say it is always on.
^^^ This ^^^

My ECO icon was not turned on from the factory. It's easily done from the UConnect menu.

Jus Cruisin

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I also needed to turn the eco on in uconnect. I rarely saw it on until I reached 1,300 miles. I did a 1200 mile trip right out of the chute. Now the eco lights up a lot (4,900 Miles) .

dswoboda2120

Reaction score
Mine comes on quite a bit and I have less than 600 miles on it. But to be fair I’ve driven it like a grandpa so far, well mostly. :)

Mason1217

Reaction score
Use the search function for keywords, plenty of info on this already. Just FYI

Twoamen

Reaction score