5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Truck newbie, still searching

TSL

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to pickup trucks, coming from a 2007 Subaru outback XT ( awesome car to drive, but it's cost me plenty, but that's a whole other thread !)
Why do I think I need a truck ? I live in the country, have a few lambs each year, haul in hay for them. Go out to the forest ( I live in Oregon ) to cut firewood, sometimes on sketchy enough logging roads. Had a hair-raising incident one time with the wife's 2015 Highlander and my 5x8 utility trailer : too much wood on the trailer for the steep downhill out of the woods. Trailer was pushing the car, steep drop-off on one side. Made it out, but lesson learned and only half-filled the trailer from them on !
Also we go camping often with the usual assortment of gear. A good camping trip for me means leaving the pavement far behind. Not overlanding per se but logging / forest service roads. We think we'd like to get into a travel trailer at some point. The kinds we've thought looked a good fit have UVW's in the 3,500 lb range ( eg NoBo 16.6 )
We've done test drives in F150 ( 3.5 EB ), RAM 1500, GMC Sierra. Hated the GMC, felt like a big awkward bus ! F150 was very nice, but everyone in the family really liked the RAM. Ride quality was unbelievable. We drove a 5.7 Hemi / eTorque.
Not sure whether we need the 5.7 or whether the 3.6 V6 would do just fine. It would be my daily driver. Since I work from home I don't cover much more than 7k miles per year. Used to be more like 13k when working from the office.