5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should The Rebel Be My Next Vehilce

Vinnie.

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm currently in the market for my FIRST pickup. Up until a few days ago I was pretty set on a manual Tacoma (TRD Off-Road or TRD Pro). I don't work in construction, but I like the idea of having a truck to haul large bulky items for projects/home improvement. I am a TIG welder (hobby) and ordering metal online is NO fun ($$$). I really feel like I could benefit from a truck for it's increased utility. I've been the owner of a few hot hatches in the past. 2008 Mazdaspeed 3, 2012 Mazdaspeed 3, and currently I own a 2017 Ford Focus RS. I LOVE this car... but I I've always been tempted to pull the trigger on a truck.
I'm in the western suburbs of Chicago, so off-road prowess is not the top of my list. Road trips to the occasional off road/ car camping site are on the to-do list though. also, I'd like to haul/carry mine and the wife's motorbikes in the bed if possible.

Like I said I have been eyeing the Taco, but recently I started diving deeper into the Ram rabbit hole. I initially shyed away because everyone I talk to about trucks always rags on Dodge/Ram and says to avoid at all cost.

I know I am asking a potentially biased crowd, but why the bad rap? Has Ram turned around the issues that have plagued them, if any?

Anyways just thought I'd introduce myself as I'll be lurking around for a while.

Thanks!

Vinnie

SD Rebel

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
I have owned many trucks during my lifetime, I consider myself a Ford guy generally, several generations of F150, had Tacoma in the past and just bought a new Toyota C-HR for a family member. Currently have a RAM Rebel and a couple of BMW sedans, so I can give you some honest opinions on this.