Multiple Uconnect issues

Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
92
Likes
82
Points
18
#21
If you ever want to do a force reset, disconnect the negative AND positive battery clamps and then touch the clamps together for 15 seconds. This works for all FCA vehicles
 

YoAdrian

Moderator
Staff member
Site Supporter & Order Tracking
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
657
Likes
619
Points
93
Age
47
Location
RI, USA.
#22
The thing is...it seems the system only “boots” like this after the vehicle has been idle for a long time. I was trying to get it to reboot last night by restarting the vehicle, but it didn’t work. When I restarted after a minute or so the system just came up without the splash screen or little dots.

Does anyone know how to force a reboot?
I am still awaiting my truck, but has anyone with a 2019 Ram (8” or 12” screen) tried this gentleman’s UConnect 8.4 reset technique, holding volume and tune down for 10 seconds while it is running, to force a system reboot?


If it works, it’ll be much easier than messing with the battery terminals. So any willing guinea pigs out there?
 

edrclark

Moderator
Staff member
Site Supporter & Order Tracking
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
749
Likes
559
Points
93
Location
Portland, Oregon
#23
If you ever want to do a force reset, disconnect the negative AND positive battery clamps and then touch the clamps together for 15 seconds. This works for all FCA vehicles
I would be careful about doing this with an ETorque truck, there are two batteries in the truck.
 

Jared B

Site editor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
2,065
Likes
1,389
Points
113
Location
Vancouver B.C
Website
5thgenrams.com
#25
Tried it yesterday. Does not work. Just shuts the radio off.
Thats what the soft reset does. You could also try holding the driver temp up and down buttons at the same time and see if it gets you into the engineering menu and do the reset to factory default and see if that helps.

 

zignice

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
23
Likes
16
Points
3
Location
VA
#26
When I say "shuts the radio off" I mean that's all that happened. It did not do a soft reset. Held the buttons for like 30 seconds waiting for something to happen.

Has anyone had any luck with the old button combinations? I have tried and none seem to work on the new system.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
92
Likes
82
Points
18
#29
Yes, but the 48V system charges the 12V. So what triggers the charger, ignition or low battery
It doesn’t charge unless the engine is running. The PPU will allow the 48v system to start the engine in the event of a discharged 12v system, once the engine is running it will charge the 12v system
 

edrclark

Moderator
Staff member
Site Supporter & Order Tracking
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
749
Likes
559
Points
93
Location
Portland, Oregon
#30
This is from a Jeep forum, wonder if it would work on a ram

What I'd like you to do, with the vehicle on. Press the phone and VR button on the steering wheel. Hold them both down for 30 seconds. When the time is up, turn off the vehicle, and open your driver side door for 30 seconds. Close the door and restart the vehicle.
 

zignice

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
23
Likes
16
Points
3
Location
VA
#31
Got an email from RAM with a link to an online survey so of course I completed it and listed my issues. A few days after I completed the survey I got a call. After telling my story, I was told that they were "escalating" my issue and I would be assigned a caseworker. The woman was very nice and apologetic. We'll see what happens.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2018
Messages
1,377
Likes
582
Points
113
#32
Got an email from RAM with a link to an online survey so of course I completed it and listed my issues. A few days after I completed the survey I got a call. After telling my story, I was told that they were "escalating" my issue and I would be assigned a caseworker. The woman was very nice and apologetic. We'll see what happens.
Same exact thing happened to me with my lemon law. This so called "caseworker" gives the same bs canned excuses like the Ram online chat does etc. Sorry to be negative but dont get your hopes up I been through that
 

zignice

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
23
Likes
16
Points
3
Location
VA
#33
Truck was in the shop for two days this week as they went back and forth with Chrysler. Finally they said there was nothing they could do until the update. Got the update today and it seems to have resolved most issues, but on FM it won’t keep my presets. I program them in and the next day all gone and some default set of stations are there.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)

Top