5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Alpine 9.1 - Why bother?

Helmetface

Reaction score
Click baity enough of a title?

But seriously! I've seen a number of people swapping out their speakers... Is it that bad?

I am an amateur audiophile. I don't need the best, but I like a good, clear sound. That being said, from what I've been reading about the Alpine kit, I'm a likely candidate for replacing all of the drivers, eventually.

So, what advantages would someone, who plans to upgrade their speakers, gain from going with the Alpine option over the standard MH?

Thanks for any input!

VaderRebel

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Click baity enough of a title?

But seriously! I've seen a number of people swapping out their speakers... Is it that bad?

I am an amateur audiophile. I don't need the best, but I like a good, clear sound. That being said, from what I've been reading about the Alpine kit, I'm a likely candidate for replacing all of the drivers, eventually.

So, what advantages would someone, who plans to upgrade their speakers, gain from going with the Alpine option over the standard MH?

Thanks for any input!
It's a decent start. I think the 5th Gen Alpine is just a bit flat compared to the 4th Gen, IMHO. So I swapped out the front dash corners and it woke up enough for me to be extremely happy. I would also consider myself an amateur audiophile and the corners were the ticket for my ears. Other than that, I have no issue with the Alpine setup.

To answer your question directly, I would say the advantage is having all the logistical work done, Amp, wires to each speaker location, etc. All you have to do is swap whatever drivers don't pass the test.

troutspinner

Ram Guru
Reaction score