5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worth the upgrade to 2500

mrutledge

Reaction score
I have a 2021 1500 v-8 that I currently tow a camper with. It weighs in about 5600 lbs dry. I'm relatively new to camping\towing and can't help but wonder if the 2500 might have been a better choice. My current truck pulls it fine but you can definitely tell it is back there. Going up moderate hills it sees that the 1500 really revs up. Normal mileage when towing is about 10 mpg. The engine in the 2500 doesn't seem to be tremendously bigger. Would I really tell a difference? I'm a little skeptical of the diesel offering, mostly because I know nothing about them and also, I'm leery of turbo chargers. Seems like something else to break.

Would appreciate any opinions.

Itsslow98

Reaction score
Towing 5600lbs occasionally I'm not sure I'd sacrifice the ride comfort of the 1500 to go to a gas 2500. Surely it would tow better but that's about it. What gears do you have?

LaxDfns15

Ram Guru
Reaction score
If you have the 3.92 gears, and you keep to your payload/tow ratings you should be fine. You'd definitely feel more confident using the 2500, but like @Itsslow98 said you're going to sacrifice a lot of ride quality.

Also, a loaded 2500 can have less payload than some 1500's so keep an eye out if you do decide to switch.

devildodge

Staff member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
The Hemi needs to Rev in the 4000 RPM range to be at peak power. 10mpg is about standard for towing a camper.

The Heavy Duty will actually feel less powerful because it is moving over 1500lbs more all the time

I do not think a 5600lb camper is in itself a reason to move to a 2500.

But, a 2500 will pull more stable and more comfortably in hills and twisty terrain.