5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wheel Spacers

silver billet

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
That's been my delimma. I've had them for several months but I haven't run them this summer while towing my trailer because I'm unsure of their safety. The BORA instructions said to make sure you can get 7 full turns of the lug nuts. I can get 6 and then torque it to 7 with a torque wrench so it's barely at the spec they list. But, is their spec written by an engineer? How do we know 7 turns is grabbing enough thread to be safe on a 5,600 lb. vehicle with a 6,500 lb. trailer behind it?

I'm not an engineer, but my guess would be that as long as every thread in the nut is on the stud, and it's torqued properly, then having excess stud past the end of the nut doesn't change anything WRT a nut coming loose prematurely, though of course having excess stud would take longer for a nut that did come loose to actually fall off.

I guess one way to find out would be to tow for 30 mins, stop and check/retorque. If no issues, try for another hour and so on. If we can tow for 3+ hours without having a loose nut I'm sure they're fine. But yeah, that's exactly my issue too, worried about towing.

HSKR R/T

locally hated
Site Supporter
Reaction score
This is why I went with bolt on spacers. I had to shave my factory lugs a little to prevent hitting inside of wheel, but no worries.abiut thread engagement

Dat_Ram13

Reaction score