5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Questions for Ecodiesel owners

Ninety-9 SE-L

Reaction score
I'm new to the Ram and EcoDiesel (about to buy). I'm trying to understand why everyone here is obsessed with the 3.92 v. 3.21 when we talk about cruising speeds.....

Below is an approximation of the final gearing ratios (red 3.92, Blue 3.21), based on the 'Engineer's Ultimate Guide' thread....and by the way, THIS Engineer has some disagreements with some info in that thread.
1646403555659.png

The 3.92's full range is 0-23.8MPH, the 3.21's full range is 0-29.8MPH (on factory tires). Right up until the 2.92 has to shift into 2nd gear (dropping it down to 12.31:1), the 3.92 has the torque advantage.

For the record, between 23.8 and 29.8mph, the 3.21 has the torque advantage (15.12 v. 12.31), and it technically keeps switching, but the bottom line is that the 3.92 will accelerate faster...particularly under 23.8mph at full throttle.

With or without a trailer, you're basically looking at the same exact truck after 23.8mph, with the 3.21 FD having just a little more reach at the top end. The 3.21 will have to drop a gear down to reach about the same final G/R as the 3.92, but otherwise you'll be at the same RPM, delivering the same amount of torque/power at the wheels. If you want the 3.21 to drive EXACTLY like the 3.92 at 75mph, just lock it out of 8th....or better yet, don't lock it out of 8th and let the computer decide, then you still have the advantage of that lower gear ratio.

The EcoDiesel reaches peak torque at 1600rpm...fun fact, that's 71mph at 2:15:1 final drive on factory tires.

The 3.92 shines in stop+go traffic, when you have to keep accelerating from 0-24mph, or when you have to climb hills under 24mph.