5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Multi-Function Tailgate: worth it?

c3k

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I'm getting ready to ask for bids on a new build Laramie 4x4. (Thanks to @Silent Bob for your thread. )

I'm new to owning a pickup.

Is the MFT a worthwhile addition, or is it just marketing?

If you have an MFT, do you love it? If you don't have an MFT, do you miss it or wish you had it?

Share your opinions!

Thanks,
Ken

wallyuwl

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I don't have it. I will look at getting it with my next truck. It is a $2000 option, though, because you need the bed utility group as well. I don't go into the bed that often so it isn't a deal breaker, but would be nice to have.

Reactions: c3k

davidn0021

Reaction score
It's definitely nice to be able to reach deeper into the bed to pull things out and you get the bed step as well which definitely helps with climbing onto the bed. If you don't plan on hauling or loading your bed often, it may not be worth it but I have all my kids' baseball gear back there and it's much easier for him to pull what he needs without having to pull the entire gate down.

mikeru82

Legendary member
Reaction score
Yes, worth it. We have it on my wife's truck but not on mine. I really wish I had it on my truck too.

b.w.royder

Reaction score
Really like mine. Just wish the bed cover manufacturer’s would get a bed cover that you don’t have to remove the factory brackets. Or put in aftermarket ones.

hydrant328

Reaction score
I really like it. Makes loading bags of mulch, sod, etc a lot easier. And you do not need to remove the factory brackets to install a bed cover. I got the Access soft roll and it comes modified to fit without removing the brackets.

brian42

Ram Guru
Reaction score