5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hopefully a simple question.

ADJS

Reaction score
I own a 2019 Laramie 4x4 crew cab V8 with the 3.92 rear end. I am towing a 7x16 ft enclosed cargo trailer with cargo of course.

If I weigh my truck and trailer and get the steer, drive, trailer axel weight, then weigh my truck without the trailer to get the steer and drive axle weight. Then subtract the drive axel weight without the trailer from the drive axel weight with the trailer. Does that tell me how much weight the trailer is putting on the hitch of the truck?

I am just getting into this towing business.

With a full tank, myself a fan and a stool in the truck I weighed:

Steer Axel: 3360 lbs
Drive Axel: 2520 lbs
Trailer Axel: -20 (no trailer attached, maybe the scale is 20 pounds off on the trailer.)

The first time I towed:

Steer Axel: 3160 lbs
Drive Axel: 3700 lbs
Trailer Axel: 3920

Am I correct in assuming that the tongue weight was 1180 lbs?

With the trailer weighing 3920 lbs, should I shift my cargo back away from the nose to lighten up a bit on the tongue?

Any help and criticism would be appreciated. I would rather be safe than sorry. :)

Last edited:

RonH

Reaction score
I own a 2019 Laramie 4x4 crew cab V8 with the 3.92 rear end. I am towing a 7x16 ft enclosed cargo trailer with cargo of course.

If I weigh my truck and trailer and get the steer, drive, trailer axel weight, then weigh my truck without the trailer to get the steer and drive axle weight. Then subtract the drive axel weight without the trailer from the drive axel weight with the trailer. Does that tell me how much weight the trailer is putting on the hitch of the truck?

I am just getting into this towing business.

With a full tank, myself a fan and a stool in the truck I weighed: