5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brake Controller

GaCop42

Reaction score
I just pulled my camper for the first time with my 2500 this past weekend. Before I had a 1500 with a brake controller box, so I’m new to the brake controller that comes built into the dash. My camper dry weight is 5400, I’m towing less than 6000. I gradually increased the brakes and got to 10 and they never got close to locking up. Stopping wasn’t an issue, but figured I shouldn’t have had to get to 10. Is this normal or could there be an issue?

Bt10

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I don’t have an HD, but you should have a way to set the trailer size on the instrument cluster, which is the old gain or boost setting. Probably more help in the HD sub forum.

SnowBlaZR2

Fuel Economy Champion
Site Supporter
Reaction score
I just pulled my camper for the first time with my 2500 this past weekend. Before I had a 1500 with a brake controller box, so I’m new to the brake controller that comes built into the dash. My camper dry weight is 5400, I’m towing less than 6000. I gradually increased the brakes and got to 10 and they never got close to locking up. Stopping wasn’t an issue, but figured I shouldn’t have had to get to 10. Is this normal or could there be an issue?
I had the factory brake controller on my 1500 with a bigger trailer. I was at 6.5 gain.

Is the trailer new or were you towing it with the 1500? Might be worth taking a look at the trailer brakes.

GaCop42

Reaction score
I had the factory brake controller on my 1500 with a bigger trailer. I was at 6.5 gain.

Is the trailer new or were you towing it with the 1500? Might be worth taking a look at the trailer brakes.
It’s a 2022. Been pulled maybe 5 times

GaCop42

Reaction score
Are you on light or heavy electric setting on the controller?