5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Windshield Crack Repair

Bpebler

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Hey y’all,

I’m set to trade in my 21 Laramie for a 22 Limited when it arrives next month. I have a very small crack in my line of vision on the drivers side - about 1” long max. I know these windshields are expensive (about $1500) & are touchy as I’ve had mine fully tinted & not many installers will do that bc once you get the sensors wet, it won’t start (I use an installer that does it properly with soak-ropes, etc successfully).

Can our windshields handle a simple, standard repair like this to hide the crack with a clear resin like standard windshield repairs in order to maximize trade in value?

Thanks in advance!

GeorgiaBoy

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I am by no means an expert! But it probably depends somewhat on the type crack you have. I had a bullseye on a Lexus that I had Safelight do their resin thing. Looked Great, but a week letter I went over a speed bump and the crack expanded tenfold.

My luck would be doing what you are thinking and driving onto the dealer lot, hotting a bump, and BAMN.

Personally I'd leave it, take the hit on trade in value if the dealer even notices. But that's just me!!

Bpebler

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I am by no means an expert! But it probably depends somewhat on the type crack you have. I had a bullseye on a Lexus that I had Safelight do their resin thing. Looked Great, but a week letter I went over a speed bump and the crack expanded tenfold.

My luck would be doing what you are thinking and driving onto the dealer lot, hotting a bump, and BAMN.

Personally I'd leave it, take the hit on trade in value if the dealer even notices. But that's just me!!
Probably a great idea as it sounds like we share the same luck. Thanks!

Bpebler