5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trailer Tow Backup Wire Tap in the Engine Compartment

REDNECKFLIP

Reaction score
I have a 2021 Rebel and I'm wiring a set of Auxiliary LED Backup Lights. I'm wiring these to a SPDT switch (On-Off-On) and a relay. Instead of tapping into the Trailer Tow Backup Wire at the back of the truck, I want to tap into that wire in the engine compartment. Does anyone have any knowledge or experience tapping into any of the Trailer Tow wires in the engine compartment?

If I'm able to tap into the Trailer Tow Backup Wire in the engine compartment, I'll only have to run one wire back to the lights. Any help, opinions or ideas would be appreciated.

Thank you, in advance.

Tomcat68

Reaction score
I have no knowledge of what your asking, but curious as to why you want to tap from the front?

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

Richard320

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
LA County, People's Republic of California
Start with your owner's manual. Find the index for the underhood power distribution center. On my 2019, fuse F08 underhood is Trailer Tow Backup. Put a test lamp or voltmeter on that and have someone put it in reverse. If you're lucky, it will switch and you'll just need to stick a fuse tap in there.

If that doesn't work, you're on your own. I'm out of ideas.

REDNECKFLIP

Reaction score
Great idea! But, Richard320 you’re partially right. It would be nice to turn them on when I’m hooking up a trailer or need extra light without having to put it in reverse.