5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scuffs - how to deal with these?

peeceejay

Reaction score
I've got a whole 1,000 miles on the truck and my wife pointed out there are some pretty nasty scuffs on the passenger side. Both to the paint, and to the plastic panel underneath.

I'm the only one who'd driven the truck, and have zero memory of touching anything or rubbing into anything - we're speculating someone brushed into me in a parking lot maybe? I feel like I'd remember if it was me, on my brand new truck :oops:

The marks on the paint look like they could be removed easily enough, but the plastic panel underneath is not going to clean up. I've never done this before - should I engage insurance? Call a body shop? Buy a specific product from Autozone and DIY it?

Attachments

• 0c19ea55-60d7-4653-9c5c-94f05a4bd369.jpg
    0c19ea55-60d7-4653-9c5c-94f05a4bd369.jpg
    141.6 KB · Views: 285
  • 8c3b8e15-6e2e-45f9-b47a-5b8748ee1967.jpg
    8c3b8e15-6e2e-45f9-b47a-5b8748ee1967.jpg
    148.6 KB · Views: 237

badpewterz

Reaction score
The painted part will clean up with a mild compound. The 2 deeper marks look like paint is missing?
The plastic cant really be fixed easily. Probbly needs to be replaced

Biga

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Yea, the skuff should come off fairly easily with compound, the plastic maybe a heat gun would help make it look better but I would probably not worry about it on the valance since it's bound to get scrapped up again.

peeceejay

Reaction score
The painted part will clean up with a mild compound. The 2 deeper marks look like paint is missing?
The plastic cant really be fixed easily. Probbly needs to be replaced

I'd have to go check, but they all felt like surface scuffs to the touch (ie: like there was something ON the paint)