5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reverse Engineering Hood Vents

Mechaero19

Reaction score
Nothing in the world bothers me more than seeing a nice ride, with fake vents. So with the resources available, I am going to reverse engineer the hood vents. I haven't decided on a final design as of yet.
The first step was to scan the vents. The next step is to reverse engineer the vents to be compatible with the softwares I use, enough to extract the surfaces and then design my own style. Stat tuned. Its a challenging
project. Yes I can hand make, but that's no fun. plus I prefer a more uniform approach. The final goal is to have a mold that I can manufacture the vents.

I have a few other design ideas for some parts.

***I AM NOT AN ENGINEERING COMPANY***

I JUST KNOW HOW TO ENGINEER ****....

Attachments

• snapshot_center00.png
    snapshot_center00.png
    188.4 KB · Views: 297
  • snapshot_left01.png
    snapshot_left01.png
    150 KB · Views: 290
  • snapshot_right02.png
    snapshot_right02.png
    158.1 KB · Views: 273

2019Ram64

Reaction score
The small vents can be modified as they allow air flow into the engine bay once done. However modifying the top center one is pointless as there is not cut through under neath it in the hood.
When modifying the small vents which like I said is easy you just also modify the heat shield on the inside of the hood.
I have done this in my ram and you can feel the heat from the vents after a good drive.

Ellisstrong

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
The small vents can be modified as they allow air flow into the engine bay once done. However modifying the top center one is pointless as there is not cut through under neath it in the hood.