5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Real world V6 4x4 3.55 eTorque vs V8 4x4 3.21 eTorque MPG

duchunter6

Reaction score
Hi, Carvana damaged my 2020 V6 QC en route, so I'm back to square one, looking for another 1500 to buy.

I'm having a hard time deciding between V6 4x4 3.55 eTorque and V8 4x4 3.21 eTorque. I will definitely be buying one of these two, for my part time, light duty towing needs--no others. All the info I could find on the V6 3.55 MPG is approximate, e.g. "a little worse than 3.21," which is not enough for a true comparison.

I'm an engineer, so the details are important to me, hence my desire to know the exact MPG difference. Does anyone know if a comparison has ever been done between these two powertrain configs? I'd really appreciate it; thank you in advance.

J-Cooz

Ram Guru
Reaction score
If you plan on towing at all id really consider the Hemi. The Pentastar is a little under powered and needs to be revved out to make its power. Also most guys with Pentastars don't get any better mileage than the Hemi.

Trooper4

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Go to fuley and check their numbers is the best way to compare MPG. The relatively small number of comparisons here won't give you a very reliable comparison.

Scram1500

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
It's easier to bang in a nail with one smack from a big hammer, rather than a lot of taps from a small one. The gas V6 needs to be thrashed before it generates any power. Also, the Hemi sounds wonderful

Finding an accurate comparison will be difficult based on the various trim configurations, driving habits from person to person, climate/terrain, and fuel quality

SpeedyV

Ram Connoisseur
Staff member
Site Supporter
Reaction score