5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Possible Lifter Tick, Any thoughts?

Z.SALA2322

Reaction score
2022 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi … Hey Guys, I’m hearing a light ticking/tapping noise from my engine only after coming to stop after being on the highway (enough time for the engine to warm up). I’ve been concerned about a lifter issue, based off of other things that I’ve seen people post. I’ve taken the truck to the dealer, but they said things sounded normal. I’m new to the 5.7 Hemi and would appreciate it if anybody here would be able to provide some feedback?

Last edited:

HemiDude

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
Possibly injector noise? Any chance you can upload a vid?

Fatherof3

Reaction score
What octane are you using ? 87 should be ok but maybe try 89 just to see if the noise goes away . The Hemi engines are not quiet . As HemiDude said , injectors make a ticking noise too .

HemiDude

Reaction score
I believe you have to post it to something like youtube first, then load it from there. Hopefully someone from the forum who has posted a vid chimes in.

Couple other questions/thoughts. What is you oil level? How many miles are on the truck and have you changed the oil yet? There was a forum member who had a faulty pcv which caused a different issue, don't recall if he had a ticking noise to go along with it. I still default to my first thought though, the injectors on these engine can be a little loud sometimes.

Z.SALA2322

Reaction score
I believe you have to post it to something like youtube first, then load it from there. Hopefully someone from the forum who has posted a vid chimes in.