5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paintless dent repair on Laramie bumper?

nimbus

Reaction score
Is this dent a good candidate for paintless dent repair? I've never used it before so am curious about your thoughts. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG-2590.jpg
    IMG-2590.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 64

pitcru

Reaction score
Is this dent a good candidate for paintless dent repair? I've never used it before so am curious about your thoughts. Thanks!
If the repair person can gain access behind the dent, in most cases this would be a good candidate.

Lurts

Reaction score
My PDR guy refused to fix a bumper dent due to it being steel and I think laws preventing cosmetic repair of a safety mechanism like a bumper. I took it to two shops and got the same answer. Ended up buying a new bumper unfortunately.

millerbjm

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I have an identical dent in my bumper (trailer coupler hit it) and my trusted PDR guy said no can do on the bumper as well. Mine is chrome so maye that matters but he basically said it wouldn't work.

Darksteel165

Legendary member
Reaction score
My PDR guy refused to fix a bumper dent due to it being steel and I think laws preventing cosmetic repair of a safety mechanism like a bumper. I took it to two shops and got the same answer. Ended up buying a new bumper unfortunately.
So getting a fresh coat of paint (cosmetic repair) is illegal if it's on a safety mechanism?
I wonder how much of all this is misguided.

Almost all "bumpers" we see are not bumpers. They are bumper covers. Without getting on the ground and looking I wouldn't know if we have an actual bumper up front but I am petty sure we do.