5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Overland

Camden

Reaction score
I’m starting my research for setting up my 21 Ram 1500 Bighorn for Overlanding. I’ve never done it before so I want to learn. Anyone got some input/recommendadtions from experience on the do’s and dont’s? IMG_8520.jpeg

boogielander

Ram Guru
Reaction score
thanks for the tag @Eighty

@Camden you can do a quick search of my posts or you can also visit my site where I got technical discussions, findings, and stuff. Shameless to say my build is practically the Bible of Overlanding Ram 1500 DT that aims to go fast in the desert and overland as it condenses what I've learned from personal experience and professional experience as a technician/ outfitter in the past 6-going-to7 years, hence the stuff I buy are mostly top-of-the-line stuff that cost.

Here's a few things that I always recommend people starting out:
  • Before you start dumping money into your build, make sure you are OK with camping and "roughing it." I always tell my customers to buy a Coleman ground tent and sleeping bags and go spend a night at dispersed campsites to see how it goes. If that's something you see yourself doing, then go for it.
  • Overlanding involves off-pavement driving on trails, fire roads, etc. Make sure you are ok. Take your truck on some beginner trails and try it out to see how comfortable you are with off pavement driving. If that's something you enjoy, the proceed. If you already have trail experiences, then it's perfect.