5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

One year in the seat

Nstewart18

Reaction score
Hey everyone, thought I would share some pics and impressions of the 21 Rebel I bought new just over a year ago. Just shy of 30k on the odo with plenty of terrain. Here are the problems I have encountered:
1) Front sway bar links are not built great, they shake loose when driving on rough terrain and need tightening just about every 5-7k
2) 35/12.5 fit just fine with stock suspension. I’ve been running atlas primas for nearly 10 months with just a little rubbing. A spare 35 will fit under the bed with a bit of squeeze. This model comes with a factory 2” level built into the frame, so make sure when ordering after market bumpers indicate it has a 2” front lift to avoid the bumper gap (I have the ADD stealth front bumper and a harbor freight apex 12k fits inside, but might need a touch of grinding on the fairlead mount to keep your winch line from rubbing
3) Stock suspension is listed as “Performance tuned” and comes with 5100 bilsteins with a 2.0 rear strut smoothie, will definitely need to upgrade to the 8112s as my suspension is already on its way out the door. You can see in the pics, I carry about 800 extra pounds with my bed rack, RTT and front bumper/winch set up.
4) current set up gets mpg 11 city/14 hwy, but I may improve that switching the 3.92 ratio to a 4.11 or 4.56 and movie my bed set up a touch lower
5) The stock inverter 115V will not run any compressor rated at 115V/3A or higher. Could have done the math first, but stick to the portables.

MECHANICAL ISSUES
Most recently threw a P0305 cylinder 5 misfire that is unrelated to plugs or coils (I’ll update if anyone is interested)