5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Key High impact points, and rust prevention

Ben1500GT

Reaction score
Going to be picking up my new ‘22 Limited this weekend and want to get it setup right ASAP. I plan to keep this truck for its life span.

This will be my first Ram 1500 so I’m curious what areas are most prone to rock chips and rust? I plan to install paint protection film on the whole front end but am also considering the lower section of the doors beneath the body line. Have many seen rock chips happen there?

I’m also new to the whole under-body spray coatings. I’ve read a lot of mixed reviews of it and if it really prevents rust down the road. It looks like an oil-type spray is the way to go as opposed to anything textured? This truck will be driven through the rough Midwest winters so I’d like to get ahead of this issue if needed.

Thanks!

(I should probably change my forum name to something without G/T now too…)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BowersFJ

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I’m in OH, and rear bumper under the step pad, and a lil on the rockers is all I had on my 2012 …. Having my new 22 shot with fluid film this Sat

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ferraiolo1

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score

mikeru82

Legendary member
Reaction score
This will be my first Ram 1500 so I’m curious what areas are most prone to rock chips and rust? I plan to install paint protection film on the whole front end but am also considering the lower section of the doors beneath the body line. Have many seen rock chips happen there?