5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Integrated trailer brake module

mdirads

Reaction score
I am a novice with towing, and recently acquired a 1500 Limited with the towing package. I have an enclosed trailer that I use for towing a dedicated track car. The trailer weighs 2,440 pounds and the car is approximately 1,000 pounds, so total weight is well under 5,000 pounds. I previously used a Range Rover for towing, so the ITBM is new to me.

The trailer has integrated electric drum brakes, which are described as self-adjusting.

My question is....what is the purpose of the ITBM? As I mentioned above, I previously had a Range Rover which did not have an ITBM, so I am not familiar with this item. What is its purpose and how do I use it? Do I even need to use it for towing this light weight trailer and track car? For reference, the trailer is an Aerovault: Aluminum Enclosed Trailer - Aerovault

Thanks!

monza2t

Reaction score
Does your trailer have a 7-pin connector? If it does there should be a pin in there for the brakes. When you plug it into the Ram the brake controller will recognize that the trailer is connected

Without the brake controller, your trailer does no braking, so if you didnt have an aftermarket brake controller in the LR then the LR's brakes were doing all the braking and your trailer brakes did nothing.

And I'd absolutely use the trailer brakes. Why put more stress on the tow vehicle brakes?

mdirads

Reaction score
Yes the trailer has the standard 7-pin connector.
Do I need to set the gain on the ITBM? What is the default setting?
Thanks again.

LaxDfns15

Ram Guru
Reaction score
It tells you how to set the gain based on your trailer weight in that manual. With a trailer that light you don't even really need trailer brakes at all.

mdirads