5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Instrument cluster and 12" display dimming.

HMC8403

Reaction score
I'm still learning my new Ram Limited and can't figure something out.

I have the cluster/display brightness set to the highest level but not clicked to maximum. In the daytime when my wipers activate the headlights, the dash and 12" switch to night mode and are too dark to view so I roll the dimmer to max. Then at night the nav screen is too bright and I have to roll the dimmer off of max.

Is there something in setup I am missing?

SpeedyV

Ram Connoisseur
Staff member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
I'm still learning my new Ram Limited and can't figure something out.

I have the cluster/display brightness set to the highest level but not clicked to maximum. In the daytime when my wipers activate the headlights, the dash and 12" switch to night mode and are too dark to view so I roll the dimmer to max. Then at night the nav screen is too bright and I have to roll the dimmer off of max.

Is there something in setup I am missing?
In UConnect, you can change the settings for day and night manually; they are automatically set by default, and the contrast is pretty severe.

riccnick

Ram Guru
Reaction score
There's not really anything to do that will solve this for you, as this is a product of a federal regulation that states that any time your windshield wipers are on, your headlights must be on. Anytime the auto wipers swing more than twice, the truck automatically turns on the headlamps, and your cluster and screen assume their respective night settings.

Rick J

Reaction score