5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Increasing MPG after installing lift and tires.

ahallag88

Reaction score
I will be the first to say I am no expert when it comes to vehicles. So… I have a few questions. I recently installed a suspension lift, wheels and 35” tires on my 21 night edition. While I knew it would effect my mpg quite a bit, I did not know it would be as drastic as it has. So first question is, what is a reasonable drop in mpg after installing? Second, what are some things I can do to assist in increasing mpgs a little bit? If it’s something I’ll have to live with? I’m okay with that because I love the look of my truck, but if it can be increased a little, I’d love that too.

Attachments

• 41519C3F-3D5C-46B8-8FFF-F4A542AF0D2F.jpeg
    41519C3F-3D5C-46B8-8FFF-F4A542AF0D2F.jpeg
    333.8 KB · Views: 105

Alejandro_Andretti

Reaction score
If you reprogram your speedometer, you'll gain back a couple mpg's.
Really? I’ve have my truck leveled on 285/6520 for over a year now without reprogramming. I’m getting 10-11mpg in California. Might have to reprogram

Idahoktm

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
Really? I’ve have my truck leveled on 285/6520 for over a year now without reprogramming. I’m getting 10-11mpg in California. Might have to reprogram
Yes. Your tires are 1.5" taller than stock, so your speedometer and odometer are not accurate and that effects how your computer calculates MPG's.

theblet

Legendary member
Reaction score
even after recal you will more than likely still be lower than before. 35” tires weigh a lot more

CalvinC

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Tires.

Weight, width, height, and tread.

Your best mpg was on the Prius tires your truck came with.

The more you stray from them in the areas above the worse mpg gets.