5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

IDENTITY THEFT - protect yourself NOW

brody.cepeaux

Reaction score
I want to make everyone aware of a scam that is going on right now. As some of you may know I work in the vehicle industry as a business manager (finance guy) and I attended a seminar recently that was related to identify theft and what is going on in the marketplace right now.

Many of us post photos of our vehicles online and cover up the licence plate thinking it is protecting you. I dont see the point in this at all. As we drive around the roads everyone's licence plate is visible. In order to obtain the information from the registration bureau one would need some police type clearance to access that information so this act is somewhat irrelevant. But what is on display in plain view inside every single vehicle on the road? What could be used to completely assume someones identity and falsify credit documents? The answer in simple, your VIN number.

All vehicles have this number displayed in plain view. With a simple lien search on CarFax, would cost the person $6.50, if that vehicle has a loan on it, every simple piece of information is displayed right there in plain view. Here is what will show up on that report.

1. Full legal name
2. Date of birth
3. Residence and date of residency
4. Bank in which your loan is tied to

I only need the information from number 1-3 to get someone approved for a vehicle loan. The rest can easily be falsified and the banking system for vehicle loans is unable to do anything about it. The big ones are name and DOB.