5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gearing Question

C0ach78

Reaction score
Newbie here, forum has a ton of great info.

I just bought a left over 2023 1500 Bighorn. It has 3.21 gears in it right now. I put a small lift on it and 35" tires (Milestar Patagonias). Now I understand I am not going to get great mileage with this thing, but I am wondering if I need to have different gears put in it? I just towed a small snowmobile trailer (12' enclosed with 2 snowmobiles in it probably weighs about 3500 lbs) about 160 miles and was averaging about 8 MPG on the trip and the truck never got into 8th gear. It mostly ran in 5th and 6th every great once in a while I could hit 7th on a slight downhill. Would it be wise to go to a different gear ratio in this? Maybe 3.92s or something?

Redz72

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I bought my truck with 3.92’s knowing I was going to lift my rig and run 35’s. I am very satisfied with that decision and would do it again. However, after reading many many posts on 3.21vs3.92, I’ve come to realize it’s totally a personal preference. As the 3.21’s can be run with 35’s but get tradeoffs. And trade offs come with the 3.92’s as well. Do some research and you’ll see both sides of the coin. IMO, you’ll be fine with the 3.21’s and towing occasionally. The cost to upgrade gears isn’t worth the gains. But do your research and get lost in the banter🤣🤣🤣

Last edited:

kzielu

Reaction score
For reference, my truck with 3.21 towing 3700lb car on 2000 lb open trailer gets average 13.5 mpg at 70mph (and sometimes almost 15 with favorable wind). Unless your snowmobiles were sitting really high on the trailer and creating drag, something is off. If you're using tow mode, it'll never go into 8th gear (for a good reason).

HSKR R/T

locally hated
Site Supporter