5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Floor Jack - Which to buy

rrbhokies

Reaction score
So what kind of floor jack do I need jack up my truck? I see 1.5, 3 and 4 ton jacks. Also, how safe is it to buy one of those Pittsburgh brands from Harbor Freight. They advertise a 3 ton rapid rise jack for just $99. For the casual person looking to jack up tires, etc. is that ok?

AndreiV

Reaction score
I have been using 3ton (6k lbs) jack from HF for over 3 years and it was one of best purchases for my collection of tools.

Neurobit

RAM Sorcerer
Reaction score
So what kind of floor jack do I need jack up my truck? I see 1.5, 3 and 4 ton jacks. Also, how safe is it to buy one of those Pittsburgh brands from Harbor Freight. They advertise a 3 ton rapid rise jack for just $99. For the casual person looking to jack up tires, etc. is that ok?
You’ll be fine with a 3 ton from HF. They make good jacks. I myself have a cheap from Home Depot which I picked up a couple of years ago. No issues either.

Cheers,

onelochevy

Reaction score
I keep a 1.5t racing jack from HF in my car that I commute in daily. Much faster than digging out the factory scissor jack. I'll be getting a 3t from HF to use in the garage for my Ram. Never had a problem with it.

M

MJB4450

Everything I have ever bought from Harbor Freight was cheap junk and many items broke on the first use........except for the floor jacks I bought. I have had two for several years now. A 1.5 ton and a 3 ton and I have had no problem with them so far. The 1.5 is not enough so I would go with the 3 ton. The only other thing is that someone had a sense of humor when they printed "lightweight" on the box. It's not.

ForTehNguyen

Reaction score

jkm312

Reaction score
Go with a 3 ton jack.
Just as important are GOOD jack stands.