5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First fuel fill up

Beatle9999

Reaction score
I need to fill up my eco-boost for the first time. Im new to diesel so I’m not sure how to go about this. So there’s renewable diesel, diesel #2. Then I’m reading about additives like diesel kleen and stanadyne. What do you guys recommend?? Should the additives be added at every fill up?? I’m in Southern California, lots of highway city street driving. I have a new 2021 ecodiesel. First time diesel owner so don’t wanna mess it up.

AMS Guru

AMS Guru, Ram Guru-ish
Reaction score
I need to fill up my eco-boost for the first time. Im new to diesel so I’m not sure how to go about this. So there’s renewable diesel, diesel #2. Then I’m reading about additives like diesel kleen and stanadyne. What do you guys recommend?? Should the additives be added at every fill up?? I’m in Southern California, lots of highway city street driving. I have a new 2021 ecodiesel. First time diesel owner so don’t wanna mess it up.
My opinion no additives, no biodiesel. Just #2 from reputable fuel stations that receive regular transports. Change fuel filter per OM schedule. Engine oil changes very important to use MS-12991with Magneti Marelli filters. Avoid short trips as much as possible. Welcome to the EcoDiesel family I have loved all of mine!!!

NorthStar

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Dump the Ecoboost and get a real truck - an Ecodiesel! 😉