5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dual Alternators

OVERLAND MIKE

Reaction score
I have a 22' Ram 2500 that I would like to put high power dual alternators in. I know RAM offered it as an option but has anyone put them in after. Do I need special brackets? And if so which brand and how many amps did you put in? Thanks

ch53e mech

US Marine. Very grateful to everyone for the help!
Reaction score
The explanation is very long so to make it short...12v + 12v = 24v, 24v + 24v=48v. A component will only demand amperage needed unless there is a short. Without a fuse to stop it from demanding too much amperage when it shorts out, it will catch fire. I really wouldn't recommend trying it unless you have some serious electrical knowledge. I have a lot of knowledge in the category and still wouldn't do it without factory components to run both in hand. If one is going to run the truck and the other is for Auxillary items only with a separate fuse box then I say go for it.

MannyN

Ram Guru
Reaction score
The explanation is very long so to make it short...12v + 12v = 24v, 24v + 24v=48v. A component will only demand amperage needed unless there is a short. Without a fuse to stop it from demanding too much amperage when it shorts out, it will catch fire. I really wouldn't recommend trying it unless you have some serious electrical knowledge. I have a lot of knowledge in the category and still wouldn't do it without factory components to run both in hand. If one is going to run the truck and the other is for Auxillary items only with a separate fuse box then I say go for it.
That is not correct. Dual alternators do not create 24V. They are in parallel, so the voltage stays at 12V. Same with batteries, parallel, 12V

OVERLAND MIKE

Reaction score