5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cylinder Misfire Normal?

John89

Reaction score
So, I hooked up my 2023 1500 and JScan is showing on live data random cylinder misfires but no check engine light.

The count usually slows down once the engine warms up and increases very very slowly whil driving. Has anyone experienced this and is this normal? I’m assuming no code is thrown by the pcm because it hasn’t hit a certain threshold. IMG_5922.png IMG_5921.png

CaliRebel

Reaction score
Interesting... Im curious to what kind of responses you get.
Im no mechanic by any means but what grade fuel are you using? You might be getting detonation if you're using a lower grade.

John89

Reaction score
Interesting... Im curious to what kind of responses you get.
Im no mechanic by any means but what grade fuel are you using? You might be getting detonation if you're using a lower grade.
I always use 89 or better. If I fuel up at Costco I always use 93.

6of36

Spends too much time on here
Reaction score
There was another thread like this a few weeks ago. I don't remember the responses, but you could search.

John89

Reaction score
There was another thread like this a few weeks ago. I don't remember the responses, but you could search.
Thanks; Yeah, that was me who posted in general discussion but I didn’t get any responses where someone directly answered my question. So, decided to post in powertrains as I felt this section was more appropriate.

CalvinC

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I'm surprised you haven't gotten more responses.

I'm not a HEMI expert, but generally multi-cylinder misfires in real time would be a problem. As opposed to perhaps a single cylinder where you might just have a faulty coil pack and/or spark plug. Or a few stumbles on cold start that stop after a few seconds.