5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Advice Wanted: Impossible to Update Head Unit on 2022 Quad 1500 (Lone Star)?

jburke90

Reaction score
I just put my truck (or the truck I will have on Tuesday) into crutchfield to look at possible head unit upgrades and it said " You can't replace the radio in your vehicle because of dash configuration, safety issues, or electrical compatibility. "

Is this likely correct? I have the basic truck coming, got a very decent deal on a 2022 Ram 1500 Quad Cab that is coming with the 5 inch screen Uconnect 3 I believe.

I guess I don't understand why it wouldn't be upgradeable, anyone got any ideas?

Full disclosure: I haven't done any modding in like 13 years but I wanna get into it on the side. I'm a woodworker otherwise so a truck is useful but I'd like to have fun with it. Once I have built some confidence I wanna install ACC, FWC, and all of those cool things on the guide on this site. Is that gonna be impossible if I can't do the head unit?

mikeru82

Legendary member
Reaction score

jburke90

Reaction score
I take it that these are basically just an easy swap since they're OEM? You're right that that isn't cheap but it's still a lot less than upgrading to one that comes with it so I will prolly consider it at least.

There are some really amazing AM kits that would be awesome to at least have as an option but I guess I am not hopeful I will be able to soon. I actually live chatted with Crutchfield a bit ago and they said don't lose hope, it's only been 2 years XD

mikeru82

Legendary member
Reaction score