5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 EcoDiesel Towing

Beatle9999

Reaction score
So I just purchased a 2021 limited with the tow package. It’s an ecodiesel and my current configuration has a towing max of about 8200 lbs. I’be never towed anything but the wife wants to get a travel trailer next year. Does anyone have any experience towing with the eco diesel? Or advice as to what weight, length, trailer I should try to stick to? Again I’m new to trucks and super news to any type of towing. Any advice would really help, thanks.

IvoryHemi

Ram Guru
Reaction score
How much you can tow largely depends on your payload capacity. What does your door jam sticker show?

NimbusRam

Reaction score
I have a 2020 Limited EcoDiesel with the 3.21 gearing and I love it. I use it mostly for commuting to work but otherwise connect my 23FB Airstream. The 23FB Airstream max's out at 6000lb loaded and with a bed load of other camping equipment, it tows just fine. I usually get between 17-18 mpg round trip while towing through the mountains of NH and into Maine. The big test is coming soon with a drive from NH to Myrtle Beach using the truckers highway to avoid most of the east coast cities. It's about 1100 miles each way with varying elevation so I'll get a better sense of mileage then.

To help minimize any sway, make sure you get a good weight distribution hitch and I recommend upgrading the rear sway bar to the Hellwig Sway bar.
Hellwig Sway Bar

Amazon says it doesn't fit the 2020 Ram but I confirmed with Hellwig that it does and I have it installed. I have it set on the middle holes and it helps greatly with towing and general riding, keeps the back end planted more firmly.