5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

what makes an engine hemi?

laramie4x4

Reaction score
I'm new to this and this a probably a stupid question...

I read that a hemi engine is defined by "a domed cylinder head". Since the Ford Coyote 5.0 also has a hemispherical shaped cylinder head, can the Coyote be classified as "hemi" also?

MannymanX

5thGenRams Supporter
Reaction score
Following...
I thought Hemi is a name Dodge gave it... Didn't know it's the internal designs name.

ClancyO

Reaction score
Lots of cars have hemispherical cylinder heads. Several Italian care had them before Dodge tried them in the early 50’s. Dodge just got it trademarked and used it. I always imagine the 426 Hemi whenever I hear/read “hemi” which is exactly what they want..

laramie4x4

Reaction score
download.jpg 004-Frankenstein-CNC-Ported-Coyote.jpg

Looking at the images, looks like the Coyote has 4 valves, and the Hemi looks a little more domed with only 2 valves. I guess then I should just think about Hemi as a marketing name?

Orion10182011

Reaction score
Coyote has 4 valves with makes is a pent roof not a Hemispherical. Newer Hemi's are not truly hemisphereical now either since the switch to the oval chambers.

brian42

Ram Guru
Reaction score
True hemis can only fit 2 valves.

There are two different things being discussed: hemi which is an engine design and HEMI which is a tradmarked moniker by FCA (similar to Powerstroke, Duramax, Vortec, etc.).

Shives

Reaction score