5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Suspension lift + Strut Spacer

Kbaboomi

Reaction score
I apologize in advance if this topic has been talked about. I have used the search intermittently here and there whenever I had a minute. Also, to all the pros out there please do not crucify me as I am new in trucks and trying to learn.

I want to go for a lift of about 3-3.5 inches for light off roading nothing to harsh or often. Ideally, I wanted to stick with Bilstein as that is what the truck comes with. I have done some of my research and see how people complain about the ride quality being too "harsh" with the 6112 settings being on clip #7 or #8, I ideally was thinking what if I can put a strut spacer with the 6112 lower my clip to #5 or #4 which in theory, I guess I would get roughly 3-3.5 inches.

I can’t see why this would not work but again what the hell do I know. Does anyone have any insight if this is possible? Not possible? Am I going to have to be the Guinee pig? I would appreciate any insight and help.

H2OMAN

Ram Guru
Reaction score
The "harsh" ride comes from the digressive valving on Bilsteins. Just set the 6112's at the hiest setting and forget about the spacer. Spacers are always a bad idea anyways. The ride will be much better than your stock ride and will keep you in alignment specs. If you are going to off road you should get UCA's while you're at it to allow the suspension to stroke freely.

LaxDfns15

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Since you posted in the Rebel forum I'm assuming you have a Rebel. Don't set the Bilstein's to the highest setting, only go to the 2" setting. That'll put you at 3" overall lift since we start with 1". Going higher than 3 is considered too high without a drop lift and will tear your CV axles up.

Kbaboomi

Reaction score