5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

  • We have been battling an on and off issue with registration verification emails not being sent out with certain users. We have finally got the issue resolved so if you have tried registering for the site but have not received a verification email, just request another verification email when you log in and you should now receive it. If you still don't receive the verification email, send us an email at [email protected] and we will get it resolved for you. Thanks!

Rough Country calibrator?

NJC1684

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2019
Messages
242
Reaction score
86
Location
North Dakota
Anyone else use the Rough Country speedometer calibrator? My factory tire was a 275/55r20 (32") and I put a 275/60r20 (33") tire on. In order to get the speedometer to read correctly I had to input a 31" tire size. Being the calibrator is supposed to adjust the shift points is it actually doing more harm than good you think?
 

PorBoy

Spends too much time on here
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Messages
4,554
Reaction score
2,668
Location
Millville NJ
I used that one also and no matter what I did it was never a simple input. I finally just did away with it and had the dealership do it.
 

NJC1684

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2019
Messages
242
Reaction score
86
Location
North Dakota
I used that one also and no matter what I did it was never a simple input. I finally just did away with it and had the dealership do it.

I had to adjust it 5 different times before I got it to read correctly. I'm wanting to know whether it actually adjusts the shift points or not? Seems quite goofy that I've got it set 2" below my actual tire size & an inch below stock. lol
 

PorBoy

Spends too much time on here
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Messages
4,554
Reaction score
2,668
Location
Millville NJ
Shucks I thought I was losing my mind with it and just say screw this lol. Now I’m in no way suggesting that it is not a good product, just was not good for my needs.
 

Fatboy

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
40
Reaction score
31
Honestly. It’s best to just go to the dealer for $200 and have them reflash the system with the new tire size. Only changing height that small WILL NOT change shift points.
 
Last edited:

XmikeX

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
127
Reaction score
28
Honestly. It’s best to just go to the dealer for $200 and have them reflash the system with the new tire size. Only changing height that small WILL NOT change shift points.
Is this actually true? it might be a coincidence but its seems after going from 275/55/20 to 275/60/20 it seems to hunt for gears sometimes. I want to adjust the shift points if it is needed but want to be 100% sure that the shift point are actually effected.
 

Idahoktm

Ram Guru
Joined
Apr 27, 2021
Messages
1,951
Reaction score
2,362
Location
CDA, Idaho
Is this actually true? it might be a coincidence but its seems after going from 275/55/20 to 275/60/20 it seems to hunt for gears sometimes. I want to adjust the shift points if it is needed but want to be 100% sure that the shift point are actually effected.
When the dealer calibrates the speedometer, they are not adjusting shift points they are telling the computer the new tire circumference. I used AlfaOBD to recalibrate my speedometer because it was off as much as 2 mph. All I did was enter the new tire circumference and now the speedometer is balls on accurate and as a result I'm sure the shift points are correct...even though I really didn't notice them being off.
 

XmikeX

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
127
Reaction score
28
When the dealer calibrates the speedometer, they are not adjusting shift points they are telling the computer the new tire circumference. I used AlfaOBD to recalibrate my speedometer because it was off as much as 2 mph. All I did was enter the new tire circumference and now the speedometer is balls on accurate and as a result I'm sure the shift points are correct...even though I really didn't notice them being off.
So the RC adjust the speedo and shift points so it might be worth it to use the tool since it will adjust if need be?..
 

Idahoktm

Ram Guru
Joined
Apr 27, 2021
Messages
1,951
Reaction score
2,362
Location
CDA, Idaho
So the RC adjust the speedo and shift points so it might be worth it to use the tool since it will adjust if need be?..
The RC adjusts the tire size which probably has an effect on the shift points but it doesn't adjust them. IMO, the RC tool is too expensive for a tool that only adjusts your speedometer. You can get AlfaOBD for less money and it does a lot more. I can't use the RC tool on my truck because it's not compatible with 21's that have ParkSense.
 

XmikeX

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
127
Reaction score
28
The RC adjusts the tire size which probably has an effect on the shift points but it doesn't adjust them. IMO, the RC tool is too expensive for a tool that only adjusts your speedometer. You can get AlfaOBD for less money and it does a lot more. I can't use the RC tool on my truck because it's not compatible with 21's that have ParkSense.
I kind of looked into the AlfaOBD and the price factored almost out to be the same as the RC, after purchasing the bypass and the other modules. I was also little confused on how the software works in general it seems like there are a ton of steps to get it to recalibrate or use any other features.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top