5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Planning out my customizations and I’m a total noob. Help?

midwestpilot

Reaction score
Alright so I’m new to this world. I’d had a deposit on a Bronco because I’m really drawn to the world of overlanding. Im not in it to be too hardcore but I want capability.
I just purchased a 2020 Laramie used. It’s got the 20” wheels with 33” tires and 4x4 with non etorque hemi. I LOVE this truck, it literally ticks all the boxes I wanted beside the off-roading. It’s the crew cab short box. The only problem with being new to this is that I have no idea what I’m looking at when reading about what parts to buy. So if any of you can help lead me in the right direction I’d appreciate it. I’d like to keep the ride as close to it is now as possible but I understand the further I go towards off road capability that will suffer.

so in priority order:

2” lift/level-I’ve looked at the mopar lift and the bilstien 5100. Are the fox shocks that come with Mopar fairly capable? Would adding a level to the front be a non-issue? Are there better lift solutions out there like the 5100’s? This is one of the things I don’t understand well and I don’t want to ruin my truck.

Wheels-I love the look of the stock Rebel 18” wheels. Either this exact model or something close would be great. Where do I even start looking to purchase and is there an easy way to figure wheel sizes? I feel like I’m reading Greek with offsets and the rest of it. I’d probably stay with 33” tires for
comfort/cost/mpg.

Skid plates-was probably going to just buy from Mopar, but again suggestions are welcome. My truck has none at the moment,

Tow hooks-I see the loops are available but I’d like actual hooks if I can find them. Suggestions welcome again as well.