5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Octane change??

IrishRED

Reaction score
I have been very consistently running 93 octane fuel in my Ram. However, with prices on the rise, I am considering dropping to 87 ( I go to a gas station where the only choices are 87 or 93). I know 89 is recommended but has anyone noticed a downside to 87 and should I expect any issues if I have been running 93 for the first 12000+ miles then suddenly drop to 87?

kdoublep

Ram Guru
Reaction score
Lots of discussion on this. Some have no problem using 87. I use 89 all the time since I bought my truck 1 year ago. It is also available at all gas stations around me. I thought about going to 87 due to prices too but decided I'll just stick with 89.

brenan00

Reaction score
I have been very consistently running 93 octane fuel in my Ram. However, with prices on the rise, I am considering dropping to 87 ( I go to a gas station where the only choices are 87 or 93). I know 89 is recommended but has anyone noticed a downside to 87 and should I expect any issues if I have been running 93 for the first 12000+ miles then suddenly drop to 87?
Go half and half and make your own 90. That is what I do, and our costco is no corn.

JC4041

Reaction score
I've been tuned for 87 for a few years now.....I have seen some saying not to, I may go back to the 89 tune soon....depends on gas prices.

Oldphart

Reaction score
I don't think I would run 87 in anything unless it's non-ethanol. Been running 91 non-ethanol since new. Around here, it's a few cents cheaper than 93 corn. Been getting 18-19 in mostly backroad driving with the MDS off. I think it would do 1 or 2 mpg better if I left it functional.

Andymax

5thGenRams Supporter
Site Supporter
Reaction score