5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Maximum Trailer Length for Ram 1500

jyako1962

Reaction score
I see tons of discussions about maximum trailer weight, tongue weight, etc. for towing a travel trailer. We have a 2020 Ram 1500 Laramie with a 3.92 axle and are looking to purchase our first travel trailer. Searching the internet I will see some people say NEVER tow more than a 30' long trailer on a 1/2 ton truck, but no explanation. Others will say that they are towing larger than 30' trailers with their 1/2 ton Rams without any issues. What is the true answer, and if I'm within the tow weight limitations of the truck, why does it matter if the trailer is 28' long, or 32' long. Appreciate peoples input and real life experience. I'm a newbie to purchasing a TT, so I don't want to purchase something that will result in white knuckled drives!

bigdodge

Happy Ram Owner
Reaction score
I see tons of discussions about maximum trailer weight, tongue weight, etc. for towing a travel trailer. We have a 2020 Ram 1500 Laramie with a 3.92 axle and are looking to purchase our first travel trailer. Searching the internet I will see some people say NEVER tow more than a 30' long trailer on a 1/2 ton truck, but no explanation. Others will say that they are towing larger than 30' trailers with their 1/2 ton Rams without any issues. What is the true answer, and if I'm within the tow weight limitations of the truck, why does it matter if the trailer is 28' long, or 32' long. Appreciate peoples input and real life experience. I'm a newbie to purchasing a TT, so I don't want to purchase something that will result in white knuckled drives!
the true answer is it depends
depends on gross weight of trailer