5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Engine failure due to lack of backpressure from exhaust cutout?

Dtdaviswj

Reaction score
So this is for anyone with an electric cutout or dumped exhaust after the y-pipe. I got some work done at a shop and the tech recommended not using an electric cutout due to a lack of backpressure. He was telling me the lack of back pressure could cause catastrophic engine failure with the valves. He said he personally has seen multiple engines fail because of this issue(not specifically RAMs). I have been using a cutout for almost 3 years without any issues relating to my engine, I use it just almost every day. The main reason I got it was so I wouldn't wake up my kids or my neighbors. I am just wondering if anyone has seen or heard of any issues like this.

Last edited:

IndianaRam

Reaction score
I've had my dumps on since 2019 and still don't have any issues. I know you're supposed to have back pressure in your exhaust system but that's the first time I've heard of damaging an engine from lack of back pressure.

Rick3478

Ram Guru
Reaction score
So this is for anyone with an electric cutout or dumped exhaust after the y-pipe. I got some work done at a shop and the tech recommended not using an electric cutout due to a lack of backpressure. He was telling me the lack of back pressure could cause catastrophic engine failure with the valves. He said he personally has seen multiple engines fail because of this issue(not specifically RAMs). I have been using a cutout for almost 3 years without any issues relating to my engine, I use it just almost every day. The main reason I got it was so I wouldn't wake up my kids or my neighbors. I am just wondering if anyone has seen or heard of any issues like this.