5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Diablo T2 PCM swap or kit?

M3forged

Reaction score
Hello, new to site and I'm learning quite a bit. I'm new to all things mod and I haven't come across an answer to my question in the threads yet so here it goes...

What are the benefits to keeping the OEM PCM instead of doing the swap? I just purchased my 21 Rebel and bought the warranty so I'm not going to be dealing with factory warranty restrictions as far as I understand it. I should be able to take it to my guy who won't care about mods. Should I keep it to reinstall it in the event I trade in the truck? Should I keep it in case there's an issue with the unlocked one? Is there anything I'm not considering?

Thanks, your input is greatly appreciated!

HSKR R/T

locally hated
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Hello, new to site and I'm learning quite a bit. I'm new to all things mod and I haven't come across an answer to my question in the threads yet so here it goes...

What are the benefits to keeping the OEM PCM instead of doing the swap? I just purchased my 21 Rebel and bought the warranty so I'm not going to be dealing with factory warranty restrictions as far as I understand it. I should be able to take it to my guy who won't care about mods. Should I keep it to reinstall it in the event I trade in the truck? Should I keep it in case there's an issue with the unlocked one? Is there anything I'm not considering?

Thanks, your input is greatly appreciated!
If you don't mind the extra cost, it's never a bad idea to have a spare in hand. But if you are missing the truck enough to need a custom tunes the stock PCM won't do you much good.

Darksteel165

Legendary member
Reaction score
Swap is cheaper.