5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Air Suspension Compressor Replacement

GSD222

Reaction score
Just replaced the suspension compressor in my 2019 Limited and took some picture along the way. I've posted parts of this in a few other places here, but figured a step by step guide could be useful since I've seen a lot of other people on here lately dealing with air suspension issues. I am not a mechanic, just a DIYer who hates bringing his car to the dealer if it can be avoided. It really wasn't that hard of a job and if I had to do it again I could do it in under 2 hours I'm guessing.

-First, lower the truck to entry/exit and drain the system of nitrogen. I used AlfaOBD to empty the system. After the system is drained of nitrogen pull the fuse for the suspension compressor (F17). Jack up the rear passenger side, and remove the tire, and all the wheel well moulding. This will give you full access to the compressor.

-Remove the dust shield from around the compressor. There are 2 clips and 2 10mm bolts that hold the dust shield in place. It's practically made of dust at this point and will be dropping dirt on you the whole time, so eye protection isn't a bad idea here. I washed it off before I reinstalled it.

-With the dust shield off, you now have full access to the compressor. Make sure the color coordinated labels are still on the air lines, and if not make sure to label them yourself. There a 5 total lines running out of the compressor assembly, and each of them should have a color corresponding to where they run to (Reservoir, Left Front, Right Front, Left Rear, Right Rear). The in and out lines for the compressor to draw in air when needed and release it when needed are labeled as well.
42366E0B-002A-4FF0-8DB8-2092503DC35F.JPG