5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aftermarket bed lighting

Rlaf75

Ram Guru
Joined
Jul 9, 2021
Messages
710
Reaction score
546
My ram already has two factory bed lights near the tailgate but I'm looking to add more lights up towards the front of the bed. Has anyone tapped into the factory bed light harness to add some more LED lights? If you did, what lights did you use? If you can post a link that would be great too
 

Jako

Spends too much time on here
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
1,172
Location
NYC unfortunately
FYI
 

Rlaf75

Ram Guru
Joined
Jul 9, 2021
Messages
710
Reaction score
546
Here's a little update. I bought a set of LED strips off of Amazon for like $24. I got them installed but they are not wired in yet because I'm not sure if I'm going to tap into the factory bed light harness or just run it to the trailer wires and use a separate switch which is included with the kit. I'm using a jump pack to power them to see how bright they are and I'd say they are bright. The light strips use double sided tape to secure them but the kit comes with a bunch of little clips to help keep them in place but I will not be drilling holes for those clips. I stuck each strip under the bed rail on each side using only the double sided tape where the factory spray in bed liner ends and they will be out of the way of anything I put in the bed. These on/off pictures were taken at 7:30 and the sun was still out with the tonneau cover closed. 20220626_195917.jpg 20220626_200007.jpg 20220626_200028.jpg 20220626_200034.jpg 20220626_200231.jpg
 

badpewterz

Active Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
121
Reaction score
100
I just bought a set similar. I like how it looks, How did you wire them and how do they turn on one off?
i just wired it to the constant power wire onthe 7 way (top wire if i remember correctly)
used the switch that came with it ran up through the stake pocket and mounted where seen in pic
 

Attachments

  • 20200903_194957.jpg
    20200903_194957.jpg
    138.3 KB · Views: 25

Rlaf75

Ram Guru
Joined
Jul 9, 2021
Messages
710
Reaction score
546
i just wired it to the constant power wire onthe 7 way (top wire if i remember correctly)
used the switch that came with it ran up through the stake pocket and mounted where seen in pic
Yeah that's probably how I'm gonna wire it. I have a Curt trailer wire extention I got a few months ago that I was going to use for something else but didn't end up happening so I didnt have to use the factory wires.
 

Jako

Spends too much time on here
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
2,137
Reaction score
1,172
Location
NYC unfortunately
i just wired it to the constant power wire onthe 7 way (top wire if i remember correctly)
used the switch that came with it ran up through the stake pocket and mounted where seen in pic
I did same. Only concern for me is my CRS and CRAFT issues and potential dead battery if I do not turn it off. On my to do list:
 

badpewterz

Active Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
121
Reaction score
100

Users who are viewing this thread

Top