5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Towing Sanity Check

1911 Go Boom

Reaction score
I have a Bighorn CC, short bed,5.7 Non ETorque, 3.92, 4x4, 20" wheels. Payload sticker on door is 1719, GVWR 7100. Am currently looking at a hybrid camper, dry weight 4425, GVWR 5500, just a bit over 24 ft long. Guesstimating TW of 700-800 lbs.Definitelty getting WDH...estimating about 100lbs for it. Myself and family weigh in about 475 lbs. Leaves me about 400 for stuff and wiggle room. Anyone towing similar to this, if so are you satisfied? Numbers seem like I am OK, but I am totally new to travel trailer arena.

NordicNevs

Reaction score
You’ll be fine as long as you have a solid WDH. With these trucks the length will bite you on trailers that are under your max towing and PL numbers. Since these rigs are light, crosswinds will not make you happy you but I think a 24’ hybrid and a WDH would be just fine.
Enjoy it and post up pictures when you get it nailed down.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lance

Reaction score
Be sure to get an antisway system with the WDH. Also learn the proper way to mount the bars on the WDH.

1911 Go Boom

Reaction score
Nordic...thanks for speedy reply. Yes....was mainly worried about length and profile of TT. Am used to towing utility trailers, etc....just never have messed with anything high profile. One other question...from what I have researched, seems 5.7 option comes with HD cooling. Does that apply to tranny or am I looking at adding an aftermarket cooler?

NordicNevs

Reaction score