5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Towing Questions

SacredSub

Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to the Ram world, well pickups/trucks in general. I have a few questions about towing and what is needed.

1: I know I have the Class III bumper hitch, but I am wanting the receiver that goes underneath the rear bumper. I've looked to see what I need and it appears that I might have the bar that the receiver goes onto already on my pickup. Would it be best to just go to the dealer or ask an autopart store if I just need the receiver or the full assembly?

2: I have the 7-pin wiring harness already on the vehicle. Is there anything specific I need to get to put into there to tow?

3: Is there anything else I need in order to tow trailers with the pickup?

Thank you for your kind responses!

cj7

Ram Guru
Reaction score
What truck do you have? Can u post a pick of what’s u def the rear bumper? Same for the 7 pin.

Usually, the trailer has a 4 or 7 pin plug that connects with the truck’ s receptacle. So, normally, you just need the wiring the trailer comes with.

What r u planning to tow?

SacredSub

Reaction score
Its a 2021 Ram 1500 Big Horn. I'll try and get a picture of it after work.

I'm planning on towing, at the moment, an enclosed uhaul trailer to help family move.

cj7

Ram Guru
Reaction score
What options/packages do you have on your truck? Like H1 or H2 or Big Horn pkg, etc?

Andymax

5thGenRams Supporter
Site Supporter
Reaction score