5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Towing - Best gear ratio

SirHobgoblin

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I apologize for posting another 3.21 vs 3.92 gear ratio thread. I am new to towing, and although I have done my best to do the necessary research, I would sincerely appreciate your collective opinions. I plan to submit a build-to-order, in the coming days, for either a Ram 1500 Limited Longhorn or Limited trim. I am making a base assumption that these two trims will weigh the same, as I plan to spec them out the same. I plan to avoid a panoramic moon roof and go with a the V8 etorque engine. 4x4, air suspension (maybe), trailer-tow group, etc. I would appreciate your thoughts on which gear ratio, 3.21 vs 3.92, will best suite out needs, based on the below assumptions and scenario:

The primary use for this truck will be some commuting (90% highway via I-95, heavy traffic), lots a traveling (mountains included), and towing a travel trailer. We also plan to move to a more mountainous area in a few years.

-Assuming a payload of ~1400lbs, based on post here and vin-based tow rating for similarly built models.
-Estimating passenger/cargo load of 500lbs (myself, wife, 3 dogs, plus a little extra to account for random items)
-Estimating a max tongue weight of 900 lbs, based on the above weights.
-Assuming a tongue weight that is equal to 10-15% of the total trailer weight, the trailer GVWR max can range from 5400lbs - 9000lbs.