5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Touchless car wash?

Rampat

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I haven’t had a black truck in a long time and with work and a 5-month old and having to mow my lawn 3 times a month this time of year I just don’t have the time to commit to washing it myself enough. I definitely won’t go through a normal car wash but I have never tried touchless before. Do they work? There’s one near my house with signs up that say “Tesla safe” for what that’s worth.

Pressgrove

Reaction score
I use them all the time. As new empty-nesters, we have sold our home and live in a rented place with no outside hose bib.

If you get the "premium" washes, the spray wax builds up over time and leaves a cloudy film that shows pretty bad on black. Otherwise, it's not bad.

Don't expect perfect results. Slightly below average is probably the best you will see. You'll most certainly have some water (or soap) come out from under the plastic thing on your sport hood. I always do mine when I'm driving somewhere so it dries better as I drive. Usually just enough water gets in your door sills so you can clean them out afterwards too.

wahudiditagain

Reaction score
Brushless wash plus a spray mist detailer to knock off the water spots and shine it up. Something like Meguiars quik detailer works well and is what I use.

SpeedyV

Ram Connoisseur
Staff member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
I haven’t had a black truck in a long time and with work and a 5-month old and having to mow my lawn 3 times a month this time of year I just don’t have the time to commit to washing it myself enough. I definitely won’t go through a normal car wash but I have never tried touchless before. Do they work? There’s one near my house with signs up that say “Tesla safe” for what that’s worth.