5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should RAM ditch the knob shifter ?

TempleOS

Reaction score
Personally I don’t think it makes a difference between a lever and a knob, but I’ve had multiple people tell me it’s turn off and I see their point. A truck should have a lever.
The knob is more ideal for cars,

Anyone here if you have high connections
Let them know

2020 should be the return of the lever

FLG8R

Reaction score
Count me as in favor of the knob. Eliminates clutter and something your arm/hand can bump up against. Also, I could give a rats behind what someone else thinks about my truck. Its usually petty jealousy on their part because their truck don't have one. Feel free to think F150.

alwi228

5thGenRams Supporter
Site Supporter
Reaction score
lololol. I'm new to the knob and I actually love it (yikes). I sort of look at the F150 as a waste of space and dinosaur now. The knob feels very high end, metal feels significant. I never have an issue switching gears, but I do come from a 15 Overland that would run you over if you blinked, at least that's what the media said.

202snowman

5thGenRams Supporter
Site Supporter
Reaction score
I'm coming from a 2014 Durango that has the knob and I like the amount of space it frees up...once you take the 15 minutes to get used to it, I've never had a problem and can jump into any car with one and feel comfortable.

Jared B

Site admin
Staff member
Reaction score
I thought the knob was goofy, until I bought my Ram. I like the space it frees up and it's easy to use. I hate column shifters and anything with that is an instant no go for me. I've traditionally liked console shifters and still really did in the Challenger I just reviewed but for a truck the extra space the knob frees up is nice.

immersivenc

Reaction score