5thGenRams Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ram boat towing?

dukabor

Reaction score
I see the thread for campers, and tried looking for a boat towing thread to no avail (but I am a novice at the search)

I picked up my truck replacing the 98 1500 5.2, as the boat grew bigger last summer (24.5’ wake boat) about 6200# before topping up the 70 gallon tank….

I’ve got the 3.92’s and trailer tow package, and debating on which airbags at the moment (leaning to Timber Grove) but who else tows their boats with their 5th gen and what have you discovered along the way….

Attachments

• CC756EB8-0535-419B-BDA8-91ADF2321F84.jpeg
    CC756EB8-0535-419B-BDA8-91ADF2321F84.jpeg
    115.7 KB · Views: 92
Last edited:

Trooper4

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I have a 21' Monark aluminum, and guess the weight at 5k loaded. Will have to scale it one of these days.
One thing that I noticed is that wind is not your friend. Although it tows ok, I definitely notice it back there. And, speed is a big factor, so I keep it down.
I know that there are quite a few on here that tow boats, so enjoy the come-backs.
Be safe

Cbty2050

Ram Guru
Reaction score
I tow a 24' Crownline. I installed timbrens(I also tow a travel trailer), they are coming off in the spring and will be upgrading. Other than that no issues.

fishingmaniac

Reaction score
Get the airlift 1000hd airbags. They where pretty much designed for this truck. My 1500 with 3.92 gears tow my boat easily. I put airbags on it to assist.with the trailer and bed loaded to the hilt with gear. I also use this truck as a backup if my 2500 is out of service. I tow large dump trailers with it and the airbags are necessary for those.

dukabor

Reaction score